Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Licenses for Windows Server 2008, Office 2007, Terminal Server and Exchange

Licenses for Windows Server 2008, Office 2007, Terminal Server and Exchange

this thread has 6 replies and has been viewed 7169 times

Closed Thread

Old 8th March 2009, 20:59
It's not a coincidence

6 month star 12 month star
Question Licenses for Windows Server 2008, Office 2007, Terminal Server and Exchange

Hey guys,

I'm pretty much a newbie but I have extensive background in computers. A friend of mine asked me about the following scenario and I wasn't sure so I figured I'd post here:

An IT company is quoting a job for my friend. As it is they are charging too much for labor and the servers, but one things really stood out. They want licensing fees for

a) Windows Server 2008 - 20 CAL's @ $32 each

b) Terminal Server - 20 CAL's @ $83 each

c) Office 2007 Standard - 20 licenses @ $345 each

d) Exchange Server 2008 - 30 CAL's @ $62 each

My question is, is it necessary to get all these licenses and CAL's, or can, for example, the CAL for Server 2008 include the Exchange Mailbox?

Thanks for taking the time to respond.
Old 8th March 2009, 22:17

Reputation: Virtual is a jewel in the roughVirtual is a jewel in the roughVirtual is a jewel in the rough (286)
Default Re: Licenses for Windows Server 2008, Office 2007, Terminal Server and Exchange

I assume you mean Exchange 2007 licensing.

Yes, you need all of those. If your a company, the prices seem reasonable. If your an educational establishment, they are ripping you off.
Old 9th March 2009, 00:05
Administrator