Petri.co.il forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Networking > General Networking
Petri.co.il is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Using Telnet

Using Telnet

this thread has 14 replies and has been viewed 2782 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 22nd April 2009, 07:28
Spots Spots is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 8
 Reputation: Spots is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Using Telnet

Actually would you mind if I emailed you a jpeg screenshot on what the output was?

What is it I am looking for?
  #12  
Old 22nd April 2009, 07:40
RAustin RAustin is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Jul 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 31
 Reputation: RAustin is on a distinguished road (21)
Default Re: Using Telnet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spots View Post
RAustin-

Yes when I just type in "telnet xxx.xxx.xx.xx" it says it cannot connect to port 23. I used zenmap to find open ports. Also, if you could point me in the direction of better ways of finding open ports that would be helpful.

Also I googled mac telnet service and it seems that you can enable it. But for this purpose I want to connect to the computer booted into XP. In vista I had to enable the telnet server to be able to use it. Would I have to enable the telnet client and/or server on the XP computer? And finally what option allows remote connections through the standard windows firewall?

joeqwerty-

How do I get the machine to listen for connections on any ports? Also, how do I check to see what process is running on the port? I had used zenmap to find open ports. From what I had previously understood was that all I needed was an open port on the remote computer but maybe that's not the case?

Thanks for responding,
Spots
Spots,
NMAP is my choice of program too.

I think, and I may be wrong here but what you need to do is to start the Telnet service (it can be found using Run>servces.msc) on your Windows XP system. To test if the service is running, on the XP machine run telnet 127.0.0.1

For a remote connection from another system you will most likely have to add an exception for port 23 to the firewall if you have one and it's enabled (You could disable a firewall for testing).

In addition, I think (again i may be wrong) but joeqwerty wants you to run netstat on the XP machine the one you are trying to telnet into. The message you are getting about elevated privileges and the paths you have (c:/users...) indicated to me you are running netstat on the vista machine.

Regards,

R Austin
  #13  
Old 22nd April 2009, 08:08
Spots Spots is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 8
 Reputation: Spots is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Using Telnet

Yes you are right I want to use the Vista machine to connect to the XP machine.

The firewall is off and I just enabled telnet on the XP machine. How do I add an exception to port 23? Is it add port in windows firewall?

Right now when I try and connect it says "could not open connection to host, on port 23"

Also, for some reason the port that was previously open on the XP computer generates the same error message except instead of 23, its the port I put in.

What would you recommend now?
  #14  
Old 22nd April 2009, 15:36
joeqwerty's Avatar
joeqwerty joeqwerty is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2007
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 4,858
 Reputation: joeqwerty is a splendid one to beholdjoeqwerty is a splendid one to beholdjoeqwerty is a splendid one to beholdjoeqwerty is a splendid one to beholdjoeqwerty is a splendid one to beholdjoeqwerty is a splendid one to behold (664)
Default Re: Using Telnet

OK, maybe I have gotten off-track here. What is your ultimate goal? 1. Are you trying to telnet to the XP machine in order to run remote commands or 2. Are you trying to telnet to the XP machine to manipulate and work with a particular service/program/process running on that machine?

If 1. then you need to install the telnet server component on the XP machine and make sure the firewall allows incoming TCP connections to port 23.

If 2. then you need the service/process/program installed on the XP machine and you do not need the telnet server component installed.
  #15  
Old 22nd April 2009, 17:36
Spots Spots is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 8
 Reputation: Spots is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Using Telnet

I want to run remote commands on the XP machine. In firewall where do I allow TCP connections to port 23? Also I am going to guess that there is probably a download somewhere on google if I just look up "telnet server download."

Anything else I might need to know?

Thanks,
Spots
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot telnet to port nemonat Windows 2000 Pro, XP Pro 5 18th March 2009 10:10
Telnet Batch file XtaZee PowerShell 5 1st January 2009 17:19
telnet problem natanat General Networking 2 17th October 2008 00:25
Telnet replacement in ESX phathuynh27 VMware Virtualization 2 23rd September 2008 00:19
telnet problem gurdeep Windows 2000 Pro, XP Pro 1 8th September 2005 13:48


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 09:15.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri