Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Virtualization > VMware Virtualization
Petri.co.il is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

problem creating a lab environment

problem creating a lab environment

this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 1385 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th November 2009, 10:54
golisurender golisurender is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 3
 Reputation: golisurender is on a distinguished road (10)
Question problem creating a lab environment

Hi ,

i have seen your posts and made changes as in there for lab practice .But i am facing problem.Please help me out in this ...

I installed VMware Workstation 6 on my laptop for practicing Active directory stuff .

On my first virtual machine i installed windows server 2008 and made it as Domain Controller with static IP 172.16.10.1

On second virtual machine i installed Windows XP Professional and added to the domain with the IP 172.16.10.2 .

But when i try to ping from server to client it says "Request timed out ".
Able to ping from client to server .

Last edited by golisurender; 26th November 2009 at 11:19.. Reason: to get a quick reply
  #2  
Old 26th November 2009, 11:35
Maish's Avatar
Maish Maish is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Apr 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Israel
 Posts: 523
  Send a message via MSN to Maish Send a message via Skype™ to Maish
 Reputation: Maish will become famous soon enoughMaish will become famous soon enough (102)
Default Re: problem creating a lab environment

Is the firewall off? (on both sides)
If not check that the exception rules are allowed
__________________
Maish
----------------------------------------------------------
Technodrone|@maishsk|Author of VMware vSphere Design
VMware vExpert 2013-2010,VCAP5-DCA/DCD,VCP
MSCA 2000/2003, MCSE 2000/2003
A proud husband and father of 3 girls
----------------------------------------------------------
If you find the information useful please don't forget to give reputation points .

Have a good one!!
  #3  
Old 27th November 2009, 23:15
gonzales's Avatar
gonzales gonzales is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Oct 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 25
 Reputation: gonzales is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: problem creating a lab environment

Are you using NAT or Bridge mode in your VMWare Workstation network settings ?
__________________
XEN Based VPS
www.cloudvps.co.il
  #4  
Old 30th November 2009, 13:43
golisurender golisurender is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 3
 Reputation: golisurender is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: problem creating a lab environment

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzales View Post
Are you using NAT or Bridge mode in your VMWare Workstation network settings ?

I am using Host Only mode for both the VMWare systems
  #5  
Old 30th November 2009, 14:24
tehcamel's Avatar
tehcamel tehcamel is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Mar 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Melbourne
 Posts: 5,563
  Send a message via Skype™ to tehcamel
 Reputation: tehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to behold (656)
Default Re: problem creating a lab environment

host only means they can only communicate with the host iirc.

also - for icmp to work with 2008, you must have file/print sharing enabled iirc
__________________

Melbourne IT Support


Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folder Redirection GPO problem in Windows 2003 environment. hcaulfield Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 2 3rd June 2009 07:34
Differences between installing a software in local environment and domain environment hamed89156 Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 6 18th December 2008 12:25
problem with address lists exchange OWA environment tribbink Exchange 2000 / 2003 4 26th September 2007 20:12
Problem creating users bravored Active Directory 3 14th February 2006 01:27
Profile save problem in XP Pro/2003 Server environment RocJoc Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 2 12th February 2004 21:53


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 08:01.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri