Petri.co.il forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Security > Forgot Administrator Password
Petri.co.il is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

HP Procurve 7203DL

HP Procurve 7203DL

this thread has 3 replies and has been viewed 1320 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th January 2012, 06:07
jackpod jackpod is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Oct 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Flagstaff, Arizona
 Posts: 11
 Reputation: jackpod is on a distinguished road (10)
Default HP Procurve 7203DL

My company has been hired to help a small k12 school get their network back on track. The previous company is no longer in business and did not give the school any network documentation. They have an HP Procurve 7203DL secure router. I have tried to console the unit and just get a username prompt. Being a cisco guy I have tried all the cisco tricks of breaking the boot sequence with no success. I have googled until the cows come home trying to find a password reset procedure for this device. I obviously want to keep the current config intact but I really need to get into this box. I have the same issue with the procurve switches. Is there a published procedure to open the console access to this unit and reset the admin password? I have tried the default password on one of the setup guides I found on the web

Thanks

Jack

Last edited by jackpod; 26th January 2012 at 06:09.. Reason: addition
  #2  
Old 26th January 2012, 08:08
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 6,962
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (779)
Default Re: HP Procurve 7203DL

As far as i know the only way to reset the password is to factory reset the router.
  #3  
Old 31st January 2012, 00:47
tehcamel's Avatar
tehcamel tehcamel is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Mar 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Melbourne
 Posts: 5,563
  Send a message via Skype™ to tehcamel
 Reputation: tehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to behold (651)
Default Re: HP Procurve 7203DL

I'd love to help more, but at the moment, the best I can suggest is this:

Have you tried calling HP and speaking to them? Maybe, if the device is still under carepack/warranty, and you can give them the serial number, they have some sort of "backdoor" access, a password based on the serial or something ?
__________________

Melbourne IT Support


Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point
  #4  
Old 1st February 2012, 15:29
auglan's Avatar
auglan auglan is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Apr 2010
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Raleigh, NC
 Posts: 1,214
 Reputation: auglan has a spectacular aura aboutauglan has a spectacular aura aboutauglan has a spectacular aura about (219)
Default Re: HP Procurve 7203DL

Hmm, I couldnt find anything on a password reset either. Thats why I like cisco, they document everything.

Worst case scenario you could copy the config to notepad, reset to defaults, then copy the config back (minus any passwords)?

Im not sure if hp stuff stores passwords in the startup config.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cisco IP phones and procurve switches... kynov General Networking 5 6th May 2010 12:37
HP ProCurve zjaybird General Networking 2 18th March 2010 01:37
VLAN Procurve HulloSon General Networking 0 29th January 2010 20:37
Procurve AP 530 misbehaves with my Server 2003 DHCP rprovise Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 8 8th May 2009 19:45
Considering HP procurve wiredteknologies General Networking 3 22nd July 2008 05:28


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 06:02.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri