Petri.co.il forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Networking > General Networking
Petri.co.il is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

wireless roaming ?

wireless roaming ?

this thread has 3 replies and has been viewed 616 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th March 2012, 09:46
tehcamel's Avatar
tehcamel tehcamel is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Mar 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Melbourne
 Posts: 5,563
  Send a message via Skype™ to tehcamel
 Reputation: tehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to behold (656)
Default wireless roaming ?

looking at a potential client at the moment
they have a couple of wireless routers, on 2 different SSIDS - let's say Company1 and Company2.
One is a netgear, one is a Linksys.

If I were to put them on the same SSID, but two different channels, would this cause roaming problems, with wireless clients constantly trying to re-authenticate between each of them depending on which was stronger at the time?

I assume I need some sort of backend, and same-vendor equipment for this to be seamless ?
__________________

Melbourne IT Support


Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point
  #2  
Old 24th March 2012, 10:06
L4ndy L4ndy is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: May 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Liverpool, UK
 Posts: 2,634
 Reputation: L4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of light (541)
Default Re: wireless roaming ?

It should work fine. In general the roaming is a client side feature. Just for a couple of AP I don't think you can justify the expense for a controler as they don't come cheap, esp hardware ones.
__________________
Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR
  #3  
Old 25th March 2012, 03:52
biggles77's Avatar
biggles77 biggles77 is offline
Administrator
 
 Join Date: Dec 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Nowhere that I like.
 Posts: 11,059
 Reputation: biggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to behold (809)
Default Re: wireless roaming ?

Got the same setup at home due to my daughter's PSP not having good range. Both APs are on the same SSID with different non overlapping channels and we don't have a problem when we go warwalking throughout the house.
__________________
"There I stood at the bar, wearing a Mae West, no jacket, and beginning to leak blood from my torn boot. None of the golfers took any notice of me - after all, I wasn't a member!" Kenneth Lee - after being shot down during the Battle of Britain on the 18th August 1940.

************************************************** **********************
** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **
************************************************** **********************
  #4  
Old 26th March 2012, 00:09
tehcamel's Avatar
tehcamel tehcamel is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Mar 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Melbourne
 Posts: 5,563
  Send a message via Skype™ to tehcamel
 Reputation: tehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to behold (656)
Default Re: wireless roaming ?

cool..thanks gents
__________________

Melbourne IT Support


Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roaming users and Document Location [Was: roaming info] agnes77 Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 1 21st March 2010 03:38
Folder Redirection with Roaming Profiles, Roaming Profiles aren't working marley1 SBS 2000 / 2003 4 26th October 2009 12:15
Roaming profiles not found over wireless but wired they do ITGuy2008 Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2 2 13th September 2009 17:42
Wireless connects via cable but not wireless rkaria General Networking 4 8th July 2009 18:49
SoHo Nework: Wireless V wireless komatsu General Networking 3 21st February 2008 10:59


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 03:35.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri