Petri.co.il forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Microsoft Networking Services > DNS
Petri.co.il is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

DNS cannot resolve names

DNS cannot resolve names

this thread has 21 replies and has been viewed 6223 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th April 2012, 19:30
maciunio maciunio is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2012
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 21
 Reputation: maciunio is on a distinguished road (10)
Default DNS cannot resolve names

I have a problem with my lab configuration. I created 2003 DC running on VMware player inside my Win7 workstation that is connected to the switch with 2 more workstations. The problem is that DNS won't resolve names from workstations, but on the domain controller and the Windows 7 workstation it is running ok.
I can do ping between any of the computers in network i can do tracert i can also ping anything outside my network by ip adress (like 8.8.8. and it is working ok, but with the name (ex. google.com) it is failing
if i do nslookup on my server it is showing me addresses of different dns servers. on the workstations it is showing local loopback address and if i do nslookup it says:
DNS request timed out
can't find server name for address (ip of dns): Timed out

inside my network i can do ping with ip and with the name
outside only with the ip ...what could be the reason of that ?
  #2  
Old 28th April 2012, 02:43
tehcamel's Avatar
tehcamel tehcamel is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Mar 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Melbourne
 Posts: 5,563
  Send a message via Skype™ to tehcamel
 Reputation: tehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to behold (656)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

post ipconfigs from all devices please
__________________

Melbourne IT Support


Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point
  #3  
Old 30th April 2012, 20:45
maciunio maciunio is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2012
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 21
 Reputation: maciunio is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

server DC is 192.168.0.6 and default gateway is 192.168.0.51
cisco switch is 192.168.0.51 and is a default gateway for network
netgear firewall is 192.168.0.253
workstation with win 7 is 192.168.0.2
  #4  
Old 30th April 2012, 20:51
maciunio maciunio is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2012
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 21
 Reputation: maciunio is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

and there is static route on cisco switch which direct traffic from our subnets to firewall ...and there is should go outside
  #5  
Old 1st May 2012, 02:46
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 6,962
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (779)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

Not really what we are after.

Please post proper ipconfig's from each machine.
  #6  
Old 1st May 2012, 11:19
tehcamel's Avatar
tehcamel tehcamel is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Mar 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Melbourne
 Posts: 5,563
  Send a message via Skype™ to tehcamel
 Reputation: tehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to beholdtehcamel is a splendid one to behold (656)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

what wullie said.

What gave you me was pretty much NOT what I needed to see.
__________________

Melbourne IT Support


Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point
  #7  
Old 2nd May 2012, 10:11
L4ndy L4ndy is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: May 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Liverpool, UK
 Posts: 2,634
 Reputation: L4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of light (541)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

Not everyone's first language is english folks, so lower your guns..

Mancunio,
Can you post an Ipconfig /all from one of your clients and the DC?
__________________
Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR
  #8  
Old 2nd May 2012, 14:09
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 6,962
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (779)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

Quote:
Originally Posted by L4ndy View Post
Not everyone's first language is english folks, so lower your guns..

Mancunio,
Can you post an Ipconfig /all from one of your clients and the DC?
We understand that. I for one didn't have any guns raised.

Your pretty much asking the same question that was asked though.

We can all read an ipconfig format easier than we can with what the OP posted hence the question to post proper ipconfig's.
  #9  
Old 2nd May 2012, 15:24
L4ndy L4ndy is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: May 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Liverpool, UK
 Posts: 2,634
 Reputation: L4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of light (541)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

Quote:
Originally Posted by wullieb1 View Post
We understand that. I for one didn't have any guns raised.

Your pretty much asking the same question that was asked though.

We can all read an ipconfig format easier than we can with what the OP posted hence the question to post proper ipconfig's.
Sorry mate, It wasn't intended at you, I should've been more specific. I just think it is not good to create an environment where people are hesitant to ask questions as they might be using the wrong word or term and they'll get picked on that.

Without being pedantic, the reason I asked for the /All switch is because the OP replied to the first request with the outcome of the Ipconfig without the /all switch.
As the problem appears to be DNS related, the output from the /all would be more relevant.
__________________
Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR
  #10  
Old 3rd May 2012, 07:53
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 6,962
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (779)
Default Re: DNS cannot resolve names

No worries at all.

I think at times we expect people to be at or around the same level of competence (or incompetence ) and just expect these timgs to be forthcoming.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 08 - Can Ping & Resolve DNS Internally / Cannot Ping, But Can Resolve Externally bzowk Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2 7 9th March 2012 09:53
resolve only one host from dns theBus Active Directory 4 18th September 2008 06:41
Deleting old user names and computer names in windows 2000 server prior to migration moffl Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 2 21st August 2007 10:00
Help : DNS Resolve logu_microsoft Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 1 28th March 2007 12:14
Logon Domian list using fqdn domain names v. Netbios names scooter Active Directory 1 8th June 2005 15:31


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 04:51.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri