Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Microsoft Networking Services > Active Directory
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Active Directory Errors

Active Directory Errors

this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 946 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th May 2012, 00:03
Vuotto Vuotto is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 37
 Reputation: Vuotto is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Active Directory Errors

In the office in the US I have 2 Domain Controllers on Server 2003 and we also have 1 in an office in Israel and 1 in Tampa. They decided in Israel to get rid of their domain and create a new domain but they failed to tell me.
I have been having one of my domain controllers reboot it self at random times and hang on reboot telling me there is a directory services error and I can only log in with directory services restore mode. If I manually power it off and back on it boots up normally.
Af first I looked in the system log and found WINS errors prior to the crash as it was trying to replicate with the WINs server in Israel that no longer existed. I went into WINS and told it to stop replicating with that server. Today the same thing happened again so I looked at the directory service log in the event viewer and I found a lot of errors there with my server trying to contact the old domain controller in Israel.

This is an example of one error from the Knowledge Consistincy checker:

Event Type: Warning
Event Source: NTDS KCC
Event Category: Knowledge Consistency Checker
Event ID: 1865
Date: 5/16/2012
Time: 8:15:11 PM
User: NT AUTHORITY\ANONYMOUS LOGON
Computer: VNETFS1
Description:
The Knowledge Consistency Checker (KCC) was unable to form a complete spanning tree network topology. As a result, the following list of sites cannot be reached from the local site.

Sites:
CN=Tampa,CN=Sites,CN=Configuration,DC=southboro,DC =viryanet,DC=com
CN=Israel,CN=Sites,CN=Configuration,DC=southboro,D C=viryanet,DC=com






For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

How to I tell my DC to stop trying to replicate with these other two servers that no longer exist?
  #2  
Old 18th May 2012, 09:35
Ossian Ossian is offline
Administrator
 
 Join Date: Nov 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Bonnie Scotland
 Posts: 16,722
  Send a message via Skype™ to Ossian
 Reputation: Ossian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant future (1549)
Default Re: Active Directory Errors

Do a metadata cleanup and remove the failed DCs, as well as the site if necessary
Full instructions on the main site:
http://www.petri.com/delete_failed_dcs_from_ad.htm
__________________
Tom Jones
MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
IT Trainer / Consultant
Ossian Ltd
Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **
  #3  
Old 18th May 2012, 20:26
Vuotto Vuotto is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 37
 Reputation: Vuotto is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Active Directory Errors

I have gone to properties on each server and set the replication schedule to None for both. So is it the failed attempts to replicate that cause the server to re-boot?

I just printed out the link thanks for the instructions!
  #4  
Old 18th May 2012, 22:32
Ossian Ossian is offline
Administrator
 
 Join Date: Nov 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Bonnie Scotland
 Posts: 16,722
  Send a message via Skype™ to Ossian
 Reputation: Ossian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant future (1549)
Default Re: Active Directory Errors

Unknown if replication is causing the crashes, but it will be causing problems (e.g. users trying to logon to a non-existent DC) and a metadata cleanup is the best solution
__________________
Tom Jones
MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
IT Trainer / Consultant
Ossian Ltd
Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **
  #5  
Old 24th May 2012, 19:50
Vuotto Vuotto is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Apr 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 37
 Reputation: Vuotto is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Active Directory Errors

I used the cleanup tool to remove the Domain conroller in the Tampa Site. When I went into Active Directory Sites and services I still found the server there listed under the Tampa site, but this time it let me right click and delete it.

I went to the server in Israel and noticed the replication was schedules for four times an hour. I changed this to None for now. They still have the DC there but they do not keep it up all the time. I'm not sure if I want to completely remove it or not. Thanks for the help!
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Active Directory not working multiple errors in dcdiag, FSR broken ritec Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 3 21st December 2011 19:32
Active Directory Replication Failure (KCC errors 1865, 1311, 1566) apatheticsheep Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 5 10th December 2009 22:06
Can you retrieve users passwords in Active Directory (Was:Active Directory) kmrdurgesh Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 21 18th November 2009 11:24
DNS / Active Directory Errors - Please Help! Mrs. Ace Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 1 7th April 2009 11:45
Active Directory Users and Computers with Exchange Extensions errors GlenW Active Directory 7 14th August 2006 11:46


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 00:19.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri