Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Networking > Cisco Routers & Switches How-to
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Switchport mode access - switchport mode trunk

Switchport mode access - switchport mode trunk

this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 50939 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd July 2007, 17:03
abdullahliv abdullahliv is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Jun 2007
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 3
 Reputation: abdullahliv is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Switchport mode access - switchport mode trunk

Hi

What is the different between switchport mode access and switchport mode trunk
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2007, 18:44
justinmirsky justinmirsky is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: May 2007
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Louisville, KY
 Posts: 50
  Send a message via MSN to justinmirsky
 Reputation: justinmirsky is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Switchport mode access - switchport mode trunk

It has been awhile since I have done anything Cisco but I believe that "switchport mode trunk" puts the particular port into trunking mode where you need to further specify your trunking options. "switchport mode access" puts the port into a state that can access regular network traffic on whatever VLAN is specified. Like I said it has been a while since I have done Cisco so I could be wrong. I am sure that a simple Google search will reveal more answers. Hope that helps
__________________
Justin
A+ Net+ MCP
  #3  
Old 3rd July 2007, 16:38
Daze Daze is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: Jun 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 156
 Reputation: Daze is on a distinguished road (32)
Default Re: Switchport mode access - switchport mode trunk

"Switchport Mode Access" = Assigns the port to a VLAN

"Switchport Mode Trunk" = Makes the port linkable to other switches/routers.
  #4  
Old 4th July 2007, 04:48
MVP bdesmond-mvp bdesmond-mvp is offline
MVP
MVP
 
 Join Date: Dec 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 76
 Reputation: bdesmond-mvp has a spectacular aura aboutbdesmond-mvp has a spectacular aura aboutbdesmond-mvp has a spectacular aura about (231)
Default Re: Switchport mode access - switchport mode trunk

Access puts hte port on a single vlan - it's a vanilla switchport. Trunked ports carry multiple vlans and differentiate them by either adding a tag to the packet (802.1Q) or encapsulation the packet (ISL).
__________________
Thanks,
Brian Desmond
Microsoft MVP - Directory Services
www.briandesmond.com
  #5  
Old 4th July 2007, 04:49
MVP bdesmond-mvp bdesmond-mvp is offline
MVP
MVP
 
 Join Date: Dec 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 76
 Reputation: bdesmond-mvp has a spectacular aura aboutbdesmond-mvp has a spectacular aura aboutbdesmond-mvp has a spectacular aura about (231)
Default Re: Switchport mode access - switchport mode trunk

Replied in the other version of this:

Access puts hte port on a single vlan - it's a vanilla switchport. Trunked ports carry multiple vlans and differentiate them by either adding a tag to the packet (802.1Q) or encapsulation the packet (ISL).


To add to that, access ports are your standard edge ports for hosts. Trunk ports are generally used for uplinks between equipment (switches, sometimes routers/firewalls, etc).
__________________
Thanks,
Brian Desmond
Microsoft MVP - Directory Services
www.briandesmond.com
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2003 change from remote admin mode to application mode keelstrake Terminal Services 2 19th April 2007 01:29
Native mode to Mixed mode (reverse) bilal604 Active Directory 4 1st November 2006 00:20
Changing the Domain from Native Mode to Mixed Mode mnelloco Active Directory 2 8th November 2005 22:33
Changing the Domain from Native Mode to Mixed Mode mnelloco Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 1 8th November 2005 08:38
Mixed Mode to Native Mode - Any SQL7 inpact surfguru Active Directory 2 8th March 2005 04:01


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 16:11.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri