Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

this thread has 12 replies and has been viewed 24546 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th October 2008, 01:03
Jamo's Avatar
Jamo Jamo is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: London, UK
 Posts: 9
 Reputation: Jamo is on a distinguished road (10)
Question Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

I have a website on a webserver that I cannot access from my internal LAN, this works perfectly from the outside so I know my ports are set up correctly on my firewall, I have looked everywhere for a solution but all in vain.
On trying to access the website from LAN it sort of tries to open it and then times out. I can normaly see the default IIS7 page if I don`t change the content but even then the image times out (just shows an [x]) with the default grey background.

I normaly use the domain name, typing the internal IP address works ok from inside LAN but typing my public IP does the same as explained.

From the webserver itself everything works ok.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Jamo
  #2  
Old 24th October 2008, 01:09
uk_network's Avatar
uk_network uk_network is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Sep 2007
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: UK-North West
 Posts: 703
 Reputation: uk_network has a spectacular aura aboutuk_network has a spectacular aura about (177)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

Hi have you told your internal dns server how to get to it?

Maybe this might help a bit. (pointing to the internal webserver)

http://forums.petri.com/showthread.php?t=29052
__________________
Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

MCITP -W7,
MCSA+Messaging, CCNA in progress.

Last edited by uk_network; 24th October 2008 at 01:15..
  #3  
Old 24th October 2008, 01:18
Jamo's Avatar
Jamo Jamo is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: London, UK
 Posts: 9
 Reputation: Jamo is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

Am afraid that didn't help, any more suggestions mate?
  #4  
Old 24th October 2008, 01:29
uk_network's Avatar
uk_network uk_network is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Sep 2007
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: UK-North West
 Posts: 703
 Reputation: uk_network has a spectacular aura aboutuk_network has a spectacular aura about (177)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

well the external stuff works fine, it's just an internal name resolution issue by the sounds of it. you said u can get to it via ip i.e. http://192.168.0.10


A bit more info really.
Like does ur webserver host multiple sites.
do you have a forward lookup zone for site dns?
__________________
Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

MCITP -W7,
MCSA+Messaging, CCNA in progress.
  #5  
Old 24th October 2008, 01:46
Jamo's Avatar
Jamo Jamo is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: London, UK
 Posts: 9
 Reputation: Jamo is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

Yes, I can get to the site via http://192.168.0.1 from any pc on the LAN and I do have multiple websites yes.

Do I need a forward lookup zone for internal PCs?

Also what's strange is that the website loads a bit and fails in the middle of it like in the attached image.

  #6  
Old 24th October 2008, 02:14
uk_network's Avatar
uk_network uk_network is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Sep 2007
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: UK-North West
 Posts: 703
 Reputation: uk_network has a spectacular aura aboutuk_network has a spectacular aura about (177)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

so correct me where i'm wrong...

ok, so the website works perfectly via ip internally? http://192.168.0.1/

when u type www.company.com it looks external and then resolves to ur external ip so that the things aren't displayed properly???

if so, in dns create a primary forward lookup zone called company.com (same name as the website (dont include www.)

In your forward lookup zone for company.com create a A host record.
in the top Name (uses parent domain name if blank) type www
and put the ip address which hosts the internal site, (192.168.0.1)
check that in the FQDN section it says www.company.com

that way it will be directed to ur internal server.
__________________
Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

MCITP -W7,
MCSA+Messaging, CCNA in progress.
  #7  
Old 24th October 2008, 13:14
danielp's Avatar
danielp danielp is offline
Senior Member
Wrote the book
 
 Join Date: Oct 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Near Tel-Aviv, Israel
 Posts: 5,188
 Reputation: danielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud ofdanielp has much to be proud of (1198)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

Are you using the same domain name for the external presence as well as for the Active Directory domain name?

I.e. Website: www.kuku.co.il
Internal AD domain name: kuku.co.il

?

If that is correct, you need to add a WWW host record (A record) to the internal DNS under the zone that has the kuku.co.il domain name, and point it to the IP address of the webserver.
__________________
Cheers,

Daniel Petri
Microsoft Senior Premier Field Engineer
MCSA/E, MCTS, MCITP, MCT
  #8  
Old 26th October 2008, 10:57
Jamo's Avatar
Jamo Jamo is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: London, UK
 Posts: 9
 Reputation: Jamo is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

uk_network, would this mean that I have to create a primary forward lookup for every website I host on my server? I had no problems under Windows Server 2003 under the same server settings though.

I wil try your suggestion and see how this goes, thanks.

Daniel, No am not, internal AD domain name is server.local
  #9  
Old 26th October 2008, 11:43
uk_network's Avatar
uk_network uk_network is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Sep 2007
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: UK-North West
 Posts: 703
 Reputation: uk_network has a spectacular aura aboutuk_network has a spectacular aura about (177)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

Yeah, give it a try then.
__________________
Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

MCITP -W7,
MCSA+Messaging, CCNA in progress.
  #10  
Old 26th October 2008, 13:36
Jamo's Avatar
Jamo Jamo is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: London, UK
 Posts: 9
 Reputation: Jamo is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Cannot access IIS website from inside LAN

uk_network, just done it and it's a no, just don't want to know.

What I've noticed is that in my firewall log, network traffic to my website from networked PCs says i.e src-ip: 192.168.0.10 dst-ip: 192.168.0.1 while outside traffic says src-ip: 123.123.123.123(visitor ip) dst-ip: 111.111.111.111 (my public ip) could the problem be that my networked PCs aren't resolving to my public ip and how can I change this.

Thanks.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PIX 501 - Access Outside IP from Inside rdvasil Cisco Routers & Switches How-to 0 6th February 2008 23:07
No Access to OWA from inside the network kulatowski Exchange 2000 / 2003 2 23rd May 2007 20:38
Can't block website access JDuncan Windows 2000 Pro, XP Pro 2 29th August 2005 12:35
IIS / default website SBS2003 js_valencia SBS 2000 / 2003 / 2008 / 2011 3 6th May 2005 18:10
Create a new website in IIS, XP Pro japple Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 2 31st March 2004 18:18


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 09:22.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri