Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Messaging Software > Exchange 2000 / 2003
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Enable TLS On Exchange 2003 With Specific Customers

Enable TLS On Exchange 2003 With Specific Customers

this thread has 15 replies and has been viewed 29432 times

Closed Thread

Old 11th November 2008, 06:39
Casual
It's not a coincidence

6 month star 12 month star
Question Enable TLS On Exchange 2003 With Specific Customers

I've had to do a lot of self-taught Exchange administration over the years, but I'm stumped with this last request.

We've been asked by a customer to enable TLS between us and them for secure email communications.

I read through MS KB articles 829721 and 823019, as well as posts on the Exchange Team Blog, searched these Forums, and trundled off down the many nooks and crannies that embedded links take me.

The end result being that I think I understand the basics but am having trouble getting my head around the implementation.

For starters, the customer doesn't use Exchange as their email system. Not sure what they have really, but they say it does support TLS, and considering their size, I would tend to believe they know what they are saying.

Second, we only have a single Exchange box. No Front-End/Back-End stuff. It's just a straight forward dual-homed server sitting behind our firewall.

So... Assuming these steps are a given:

1) Add a new public IP address.
2) Change the default SMTP VS to use just the old IP address.
3) Create a new SMTP VS to use the new IP address.
4) Buy a certificate from a reputable CA and install it on the new SMTP VS.
5) Setup the new SMTP VS properties for TLS.