Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

PLEASE HELP - Setup Branch Office

PLEASE HELP - Setup Branch Office

this thread has 15 replies and has been viewed 7053 times

Closed Thread

Old 13th August 2009, 09:12
Casual
It's not a coincidence

6 month star 12 month star
Exclamation PLEASE HELP - Setup Branch Office

I've been asked to setup a 2nd site to our office, I've never done this before, only done internal servers, so could really use some help.

There will be a firewall device at each end that will establish a site to site VPN for connectivity between the 2 sites.

How should I configure each site?

I know this will vary from site to site, I know this, I'm just wanting to learn the min requirements to make it all work, I can look at customising for our needs later. I'm after quite ganular information, ie, the order to set up each component & how to do it, click by click.

Let's call them
SITE1:
- DNS: site1.company.local
- Server Name: SVR1
-
Server IP: 192.168.4.2
- 2003 domain with 2 DCs in 2003 mode
- 192.168.4.0/24
- VPN/Router/Firewall/Gateway IP: 192.168.4.1
SITE2
- DNS: site2.company.local
-
Server Name: SVR2
- Server IP: 192.168.5.2
- 192.168.5.0/24
- VPN/Router/Firewall/Gateway IP: 192.168.5.1

Components that come to mind are:
* Domain Controller setup
* Forest/domain setup
* DNS
* AD Domains & Trusts
* AD Sites & Services

Thanks very much for any help, I'm in a really tight bind here!
Old 13th August 2009, 10:34
Casual
Casual

Default Re: PLEASE HELP - Setup Branch Office

hi,

a little clarification,

are both sites being setup from scratch
or site 1 is up n running