Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settings"

Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settings"

this thread has 6 replies and has been viewed 3907 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th January 2010, 08:14
Albertwt Albertwt is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Feb 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Sydney
 Posts: 660
 Reputation: Albertwt is on a distinguished road (18)
Question Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settings"

Hi All,

I'm now struggling with my Exchange Server 2007 SP1 (RU 3) box which also serving as DC + GC (5 FSMO role all in one). This is not SBS 2003, it is on Standard Edition which comes with the Dell 2950 Server.

It always stuck on the "Applying Computer Settings..." therefore i have to reset the server several times, any idea to help me login (apart from the safe mode) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

At the moment I am able to login under safe mode but the Exchange Server 2007 cannot serve Outlook 2007 Client.

after looong time it finally able to get into the logon window, there is one problem though still remains, that is
I can ping to outside world and check email from local OWA interactively, but this Server is not ping-able ?

Last edited by Albertwt; 26th January 2010 at 09:16..
  #2  
Old 26th January 2010, 10:18
Albertwt Albertwt is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Feb 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Sydney
 Posts: 660
 Reputation: Albertwt is on a distinguished road (18)
Default Re: Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settin

I manage to disable the "Network Location Awareness" service.

and so far the server is now ping-able and TCP traffic can go both ways (including email).

but strangely this problem occured after I restarted the server as always, therefore if I'm stuck again I'll have to force reset and hope that this problem pass away (>_<)"
  #3  
Old 26th January 2010, 14:36
Sembee's Avatar
MVP Sembee Sembee is offline
MVP
MVP
 
 Join Date: Apr 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Newbury, UK
 Posts: 6,480
 Reputation: Sembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud ofSembee has much to be proud of (1116)
Default Re: Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settin

This is a WINDOWS issue, nothing to do with Exchange. Therefore I have moved it to the Windows 2003 Server forum.

Simon
Exchange Forum Moderator.
__________________
--
Simon Butler
Exchange MVP

Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.
  #4  
Old 28th January 2010, 08:21
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 7,021
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (816)
Default Re: Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settin

Is the server pointing to itself for DNS??

What AV software are you using??

Usually these issues are DNS related.
  #5  
Old 28th January 2010, 08:25
Albertwt Albertwt is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Feb 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Sydney
 Posts: 660
 Reputation: Albertwt is on a distinguished road (18)
Question Re: Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settin

Quote:
Originally Posted by wullieb1 View Post
Is the server pointing to itself for DNS??

What AV software are you using??

Usually these issues are DNS related.
Thanks for the reply wullieb1,
There is no AV or firewall on this server.
ah, now you got me thinking about DNS Issue:

I've just succesfully demote my old DC let say DC1 and now all of the role is on DC2, but when I browse around the DNS entry I still found out the old DC trace in:

Quote:
Forward Lookup Zones
domain.com
_msdcs
dc
_sites
Default-First-Site-Name
_tcp
The example of the key entry type:
Quote:
_ldap
_kerberos
_sipinternaltls
_kpasswd
_gc
pointing into the old dc1 address.domain.com
  #6  
Old 28th January 2010, 08:38
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 7,021
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (816)
Default Re: Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settin

This server is a DC right??

It should be pointing to itself for resolution.

Remove any other DNS entries from the NIC unless you need them.
  #7  
Old 28th January 2010, 08:49
Albertwt Albertwt is offline
Member
Someone to look up to
 
 Join Date: Feb 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Sydney
 Posts: 660
 Reputation: Albertwt is on a distinguished road (18)
Default Re: Win2003 Std R2 SP2 + Exchange Server 2007 SP 1 stuck on "Applying Computer Settin

Quote:
Originally Posted by wullieb1 View Post
This server is a DC right??

It should be pointing to itself for resolution.

Remove any other DNS entries from the NIC unless you need them.
Yes you're right so i shall remove it manually then form the DNS server.

Cheers.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot "run as" for some consoles in adminpack Win Server 2003 SP2 shades Windows 2000 Pro, XP Pro 1 30th October 2009 18:40
Client Take Long Time (5+ mins) to "Applying Personal Settings" HotDay2222 Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 3 23rd September 2009 21:57
"My Computer" or "Windows Explorer" slooooowwwwww wu.dotcom Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 7 21st January 2009 11:41
Rule "have server reply using" with Exchange 2007 Iss Sherpa Outlook 5 4th March 2008 06:04
"Applying Personal Settings" for > 30 minutes, WinXP and Win2k3 server paradigmcc Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 7 8th March 2007 11:43


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 04:29.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri