Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Microsoft Networking Services > System Management
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Retrieving a serial from a remote computer

Retrieving a serial from a remote computer

this thread has 3 replies and has been viewed 40894 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th July 2010, 00:58
ToddC ToddC is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 24
 Reputation: ToddC is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Retrieving a serial from a remote computer

I have several computers on my network and I need the ability to retrieve the system serial number remotely. I have searched high and low for a method of doing so with little luck. I was able to find out to do it with a command line, and it worked on my local machine just fine. Just not sure how to apply it remotely. I have the computer names........but when I try to run it like telnet or apply it remotely it fails. I guess I am just looking for a quick easy way to get what I need.
Any help/advise would be great.
Thanks in advance.
  #2  
Old 15th July 2010, 01:22
L4ndy L4ndy is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: May 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Liverpool, UK
 Posts: 2,634
 Reputation: L4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of light (541)
Default Re: Retrieving a serial from a remote computer

What is the command in question?

You could use WMIC

Code:
wmic /NODE "PCName" bios get serialnumber

or a VBS script as per

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/558124
For more: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/m...9.wmidata.aspx
__________________
Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR
  #3  
Old 16th July 2010, 21:37
ToddC ToddC is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Nov 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 24
 Reputation: ToddC is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Retrieving a serial from a remote computer

when I type in wmic /NODE "PCName" bios get serialnumber
do I use the name of the PC inside the quotes? I have tried diff syntax and all I get is
Invalid Node Syntax or Invalid Global Switch
I also get Alias not found
help please

Last edited by ToddC; 16th July 2010 at 21:40..
  #4  
Old 19th July 2010, 15:45
L4ndy L4ndy is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: May 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Liverpool, UK
 Posts: 2,634
 Reputation: L4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of lightL4ndy is a glorious beacon of light (541)
Default Re: Retrieving a serial from a remote computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddC View Post
when I type in wmic /NODE "PCName" bios get serialnumber
do I use the name of the PC inside the quotes? I have tried diff syntax and all I get is
Invalid Node Syntax or Invalid Global Switch
I also get Alias not found
help please
Yes you do use the name of the PC inside the quotes.
Also apologies, there should be a colon after the Node as follows:

Code:
 
wmic /NODE: "PCName" bios get serialnumber
__________________
Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Script to get Serial Number from a list of computer. Alexito General Scripting 2 29th September 2009 23:31
Add remote computer to AD ricangy Active Directory 3 9th March 2009 18:31
L2tp/IPSEC remote client VPN connection fails with remote computer did not respond drvee Cisco Routers & Switches How-to 1 29th January 2009 13:13
script for remote computer mohanmathew General Scripting 7 23rd January 2009 16:04
Remote access to home computer mabramov General Networking 7 23rd February 2008 19:54


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 19:06.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri