Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

this thread has 13 replies and has been viewed 20351 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th October 2010, 08:01
chakotay2 chakotay2 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: Feb 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 184
 Reputation: chakotay2 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

Hi,

I have Six (6) 500 GB drives I am trying to put into a Raid 5 array. I just found out that NTFS / Windows Server 2008 R2 will only recognize a 2TB partition via Hardware Raid.

I can use GPT but only in a software RAID mode.

I'd like to run Raid 5 in the FASTEST mode possible, even if it means giving up one of my disks to make it under the 2TB limit.

Am I better off doing it as Hardware Raid 5 (with 2TB limit), or software using GPT and taking advantage of the extra drive.

(the extra space isn't crutial, I just had the drives so I thought it would be fun to play.)

Thanks!

Allen
  #2  
Old 5th October 2010, 09:00
Ossian Ossian is offline
Administrator
 
 Join Date: Nov 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Bonnie Scotland
 Posts: 17,085
  Send a message via Skype™ to Ossian
 Reputation: Ossian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant futureOssian has a brilliant future (1694)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

In general (and AFAIK still true for 2K8, hardware is much more efficient than software.

How about RAID 1+0 (mirror of 3 striped drives) for 1.5 TB super fast storage if your controller supports this.

This 2TB Partition limit is becoming a real PITA! Come on, MS, 2TB drives are hear to stay!!!!
__________________
Tom Jones
MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
IT Trainer / Consultant
Ossian Ltd
Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **
  #3  
Old 5th October 2010, 09:28
Entrope Entrope is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Sep 2010
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 17
 Reputation: Entrope is on a distinguished road (12)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

My recommendation is to always keep RAID handling on a hardware level.

For RAID-5 especially where computation of the parity is required there can be quite a lot of overhead (plus added latency) when using software based solutions.

If you are looking for sheer performance though I'd recommend looking into RAID-10 if you can afford it as already mentioned by Ossian.

At the end of the day even if you go hardware it doesn't matter what kind of RAID solution you have in place RAID-5 always suffers a performance penalty when writing to the array due to the computation of the parity bit.
  #4  
Old 5th October 2010, 15:03
chakotay2 chakotay2 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: Feb 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 184
 Reputation: chakotay2 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

Ok, so in the Raid 1+0 (which my card does support). What would my config look like with 6 disks.

If I am reading it correctly it works in increments of four. Would I just do a regular mirror (Raid1) with the other two?

Also, where in Raid 5 it's (n-1) for loss of usable data, is the raid 1+0 a 50% loss like raid 1 is?
  #5  
Old 5th October 2010, 15:45
Entrope Entrope is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Sep 2010
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 17
 Reputation: Entrope is on a distinguished road (12)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

RAID-10 is basically a stripe of RAID-1's... so yeah it's similar to RAID-1 in that you lose half your usable storage space.

Therefore six 500GB drives in a RAID-10 array would yield only 1500GB of useable storage space.

Edit: And since you would only have 1500GB of useable storage space, you should have no problems with partitioning (:

(Thing is though... if you are using a hardware based RAID controller you should be able to create partitions in excess of 2TB on Windows Server 2008 R2.)

Last edited by Entrope; 5th October 2010 at 15:47..
  #6  
Old 5th October 2010, 15:53
chakotay2 chakotay2 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: Feb 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 184
 Reputation: chakotay2 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Entrope View Post
(Thing is though... if you are using a hardware based RAID controller you should be able to create partitions in excess of 2TB on Windows Server 2008 R2.)
I am, and the BIOS lets me but Windows Server 2008 R2 isn't allowing me to install the OS to that array. Is there a trick I am missing?

I am using just an on board Raid controller (not an enterprise level)

(MB is a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P).

So the controller sees 6 drives in Raid 5 as a 2.5 TB, but Windows Server 2008 R2 doesn't like it.
  #7  
Old 5th October 2010, 16:01
Entrope Entrope is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Sep 2010
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 17
 Reputation: Entrope is on a distinguished road (12)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

Are you trying to create a single partition on the array which you are then trying to install Server 2008 R2 on?

If I remember correctly you can not have a boot partition 2TB or larger. Which means Server 2008 R2 needs to be on a partition smaller than 2TB, but you can have other partitions larger than 2TB if you desire.
  #8  
Old 5th October 2010, 16:11
chakotay2 chakotay2 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: Feb 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 184
 Reputation: chakotay2 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Entrope View Post
Are you trying to create a single partition on the array which you are then trying to install Server 2008 R2 on?

If I remember correctly you can not have a boot partition 2TB or larger. Which means Server 2008 R2 needs to be on a partition smaller than 2TB, but you can have other partitions larger than 2TB if you desire.
Ok, I think I'll just pull one drive and run Raid 5 on it so I have 2.5 for a usable 2 TB. I like the idea of 1+0 as suggested here, but don't really want to lose 50% of my drive space.

I guess I could always add two SSD drives on the other controller and use those as a boot drive! (If I wasn't tapped out on cash that is!)
  #9  
Old 5th October 2010, 16:14
Entrope Entrope is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Sep 2010
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 17
 Reputation: Entrope is on a distinguished road (12)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

I think you can have a boot drive larger than 2TB as long as your boot partition is less than 2TB.

Why not try:

C:\ 50GB (Boot Partition, Server 2008 R2 install)
D:\ 2450GB

This should work.
  #10  
Old 5th October 2010, 16:15
chakotay2 chakotay2 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: Feb 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 184
 Reputation: chakotay2 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Server 2008 R2 / 2TB limit

Ahhh, good call! I'll give that a shot when I get home tonight!
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IIS 7.5 + sql server 2008 + windows server 2008 web edition dontknow Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2 0 28th May 2010 11:05
Having problem with 2TB max. BRader VMware Virtualization 10 25th May 2010 20:16
Does Exchange 2003 have some limit on storing sent items on server? MadBoy Exchange 2000 / 2003 4 8th February 2010 13:07
Mailbox Size limit NOT exceeded yet users are receiving size limit warnings ravsohi Exchange 2000 / 2003 7 13th May 2008 16:07
theorical and practical limit of mailboxes on single server massimo_m Exchange 2000 / 2003 3 5th April 2005 10:01


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 05:54.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri