Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

routing in windows server 2008

routing in windows server 2008

this thread has 2 replies and has been viewed 1082 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th March 2012, 17:18
rithish rithish is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Mar 2012
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 15
 Reputation: rithish is on a distinguished road (10)
Default routing in windows server 2008

actually iam using windows server 2008 inside vmware workstation 8 beta.Now i want to connect two different networks with windows 2008 as router.so for that i physically have one nic in my pc.so for connecting two different networks i should have two nic virtually in vmware how to do that???
  #2  
Old 13th March 2012, 17:27
[JM] [JM] is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: Jul 2010
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: United States
 Posts: 224
 Reputation: [JM] will become famous soon enough (99)
Default Re: routing in windows server 2008

Are you trying to route between virtual guests? Assign the server two virtual NICs and enable RRAS. Create two VM guests and assign each guest to one of the two NICs so that the 2008 server is connected to the networks of each guest.

Are you trying to route between the guests and the physical host? Assign the 2008 server two NICs. One will be bridged with the host, the other a private network. Enable RRAS. Add a NAT interface so that you do not have to worry about routes within your LAN. Place the guest VMs on the same virtual NIC as the 2008 server's 'private' side NIC.

Can you elaborate on which networks you want to route between?
__________________
JM @ IT Training & Consulting
http://www.itgeared.com
  #3  
Old 13th March 2012, 17:37
rithish rithish is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Mar 2012
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 15
 Reputation: rithish is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: routing in windows server 2008

ok i will tell the scenario what iam doing actually sir now i have windows server 2008 as a router in vmware and two guest os in same vmware one is 10.10.10.5 and other is 192.168.1.1 and their default gateway is server ip address .yes iam using every thing in vmware.now in windows server 2008 i went to c networks and sharing centre there is only one connection tat is local area connection.now i want two connection right??/
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use Cisco 1841 Router to replace Routing and Remote Access in Server 2008 Easyb Cisco Routers & Switches How-to 14 9th August 2010 17:03
Files Encryption, Platform Windows Server 2008, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 7 wajeeh_r Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2 4 7th July 2010 15:08
Server 2008 Standard and Internet Routing Setup FURRYNUTZ Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2 1 22nd December 2008 09:23
Routing and Remote Access Server (VPN) Windows 2003 agree2disagree Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 2 16th October 2008 18:36
Windows Server 2008 + Visual Studio 2008 - 40% discount on exams danielp MS Certification Track 7 30th June 2008 02:27


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 16:06.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri