Petri.com forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2
Petri.com is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

CPU Usage showing a red Line

CPU Usage showing a red Line

this thread has 3 replies and has been viewed 5333 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th August 2006, 15:10
bwebber bwebber is offline
Junior Member
It's not a coincidence
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Johannesburg
 Posts: 106
  Send a message via MSN to bwebber
 Reputation: bwebber is on a distinguished road (10)
Default CPU Usage showing a red Line

Hi There,

this is most probably a silly question but i have never seen this before. Under task manager on my CPU usage, i have a green heart beat running and a red heart beat running.

What is the red heart beat for? Does this indicate a problem?

Thanks,
  #2  
Old 7th August 2006, 15:15
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 7,044
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (821)
Default Re: CPU Usage showing a red Line

If it's the red line i'm thinking about it is the kernel times.

Useful to see how much of processor activity is there for the core operating system kernel purpose.
  #3  
Old 7th August 2006, 15:24
bwebber bwebber is offline
Junior Member
It's not a coincidence
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Johannesburg
 Posts: 106
  Send a message via MSN to bwebber
 Reputation: bwebber is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: CPU Usage showing a red Line

Ahhhh thanks.

thought i had a faulty processor or something sily like that.

Thanks a million.
  #4  
Old 7th August 2006, 15:34
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 7,044
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (821)
Default Re: CPU Usage showing a red Line

Glad to help
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
winlogon takes high cpu usage skm_mail Windows 2000 Pro, XP Pro 6 28th July 2005 09:09
Minimizing Legacy program CPU usage on Windows 2k wrkstion Techman Windows 2000 Pro, XP Pro 2 22nd November 2004 21:02


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 15:26.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri